Solo Tripping @ 3 Mths: Part II

Click here, if you’ve missed Part I of this article (the important bit that inspired me go Solo Tripping with V1/V2 when they were tiny babies).

So you’ve got a bit of time on your hands (not really since you’re caring for a tiny baby) and you’re thinking how cool it would be to do the same thing you’re doing where you are, but SOMEWHERE ELSE! Maybe it’s something you want to do with your NCT group of mummy friends? Follow this questionairre to make up your mind!

Should I Solo Trip?

YES. DO IT! There is no time like the present. The younger the baby the easier especially if your baby sleeps a lot.

What Would I Gain?

The only tried and tested way to assess if you can cope, is to cope. Level up your knowledge and confidence in your ability to (s)Mother. Oh and cake tastes better in a cafe, 400 miles away from home, when you have it with tea (while you baby is sleeping in the buggy) as opposed to when you’re at home. Don’t ask me why.

Plus it’s a change of scenery. We could all use that sometimes to give us some perspective.

Why Shouldn’t I Solo Trip?

I don’t know, why shouldn’t you? Only you would know the answer to this question.

Where Should I Go?

You can start off with half day trips to a nearby museum, graduate to day trips to somewhere an hour away and move to overnight trips… Travelling alone with a baby is a wonderful experience – as long as you have the right mindset. And the more you do it, the more you’ll want to do it.

Top 3 Tips when Solo Tripping  (for babies 3 months in age or less)

  • Always bring your weapon of choice.

My weapon of choice: the Connecta sling. Both my babies will 99% of the time stop crying when I carry them in this magic sling (in V1’s case, pop a boob in her mouth but I don’t like to overuse the boob!) and because I’m not fit like Paula Radcliffe, I need my sling so that my shoulders and back do not suffer. When you have your weapon of choice ready to be whipped out at a moment’s notice, you feel confident!

  • Always be prepared.

Do you know what’s in your nappy bag? Would you go to war without a loaded gun and bulletproof vest? No. Nappies, wipes, a couple of plastic bags, anti-bacterial hand sanitiser, changing mat and a change of clothes for me and V1/V2. You never know when a poonami might happen. When everything is covered in poo, it’s nice to know you can get yourself and your baby clean. A comfortable breastfeeding bra and a breastfeeding-friendly top are must haves for me as I hardly ever use a cover (it’s too faffy and the girls hate having their faces covered while they feed). Don’t forget your credit card, cash, phone and charger. Credit card for when you forget to bring something and need to buy it, cash for when you’re desperately hungry and need a Snickers bar, phone and charger for your entertainment when the baby is actually napping but you refuse to “sleep when the baby sleeps” (what? and miss out on ‘me’ time??).

  • Be flexible and always pay attention to your baby’s cues.

I put these two together as it’s like rolling with it and not being too constrained by your baby’s needs whilst acknowledging that sometimes it’s time to call it a day when your baby opens her mouth and screams the house down.

Remember, you know your baby best. Have you solo tripped? Leave a comment and tell me more about it!

Leave a Reply

